A love letter

My dearest,hearts_01

It was not love at first sight. You looked perfect in every way, but I’m not one to be deceived by appearances. Were you really the one for me? I had already been disappointed by many.

Following that first meeting, you appeared before me regularly, showing your best attributes. After a while, I seemed to constantly go back to you until finally, I agreed we could give it a try.

You were hard to handle at first, but I am not one to give up so easily once I’ve started something. I went to wiser people for advice. Before I knew it, I was falling in love with you.

I didn’t flinch when you asked for a more permanent commitment. You made me whole. You supported me in my writing endeavours, and I trust you will for years to come.

I hope we can grow old together. Should it not be possible, know that I will always remember you, my precious Scrivener.

Yours truly,
Idaheart_beat

Sorry for that, haha. And no, this post isn’t sponsored by Scrivener: I do believe everything written there. Microsoft Word is good and all, but after I’d reached 20k words on a novel, I’d have a hard time finding individual scenes to switch them around (and I do that a lot).

I wish you all a happy Valentine’s Day!

snail-reverseAs a little life update: 2017 isn’t starting too well for me. On January 29, there was a shooting in Quebec City, near a grocery store I’d sometimes go to. Six men died, others were injured. I don’t watch the news because tragedies pain me too much, but there was no escaping that one. Then, my husband got into an accident last week and our car, which we both loved and had named Eli, might be a total loss. For his part, he has some neck pain, but thankfully nothing worse.

Also, I’m still unemployed. I went for a translation test yesterday, but I was sick with a cold (as I always am in the winter) and I don’t think it went too well… Here’s hoping spring will bring more job openings!

In the meantime, I cope with the increased anxiety through writing and knitting, which I learned watching YouTube videos three weeks ago. It’s both relaxing and useful, I love it! So far, I’ve made a doll scarf and a dishcloth. I am now working on a scarf for myself.flower_02 I love listening to podcasts while I knit, so if you have any recommendation, feel free to share! I especially like fiction podcasts.

Anyway, I hope you are all well, and if you aren’t… spring is coming in… 36 days! Hang on!

swan-heart-small

27 thoughts on “A love letter

  1. You had us all fooled there with the direction of that letter!! Thought I was onto something!
    I’m sorry to hear that 2017 didn’t get off to a flying start for you… in fact it sounded awful I really hope you and your hubby are both alright? Sad to hear about Eli (my possessions have names too…). You are one talented woman – writing, knitting and also multilingual! Hope it’s all looking up for you from now on 🙂🙏

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you! That was a good writing exercise, I enjoyed it.

      We’re mostly all right, just worried about how much that is going to cost… money is already so tight. ^^;

      I am a bit of a Jill of all trades, master of none. I am trying my best to focus on “mastering” writing, but… yeah, it’s not working all that well, haha. However, I do feel like knowing a little about a lot of things helps me be a better writer, to create believable characters with varied hobbies and interests.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed the way you started it off like a real love letter, cause I was definitely fooled haha. I’m sorry that 2017 started off like that, but being a Jack of many trades, I think something will come up soon for you. Have a great Valentine’s Day!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved the letter! I’m sorry that this year hasn’t been good to you so far. But there’s always hope. I really wish that things will start getting better fit you. Keep writing 😃 Writing helps me unwind when things are getting too much for me. Just hang in there. Sometimes things fall apart just so that they can fit back where they belong. God bless you, Ida.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m a big fan of Scrivener too! I even use Scrivener to compose my blog posts.

    I’m sorry to hear that your “real” life is off to a much rougher start. Hope things pick up soon. In the meantime, I’m glad to have found you here and look forward to following you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

