Resolution for 2017

Happy New Year, everyone!lettering42-1-14

January’s book review will be pushed to next week since special occasions outrank scheduled posts.

Today is the very first day of the new year and I want to take some time to think about a theme for the year to come. What I mean by theme is actually a very vague resolution like “become more self-confident” or “take better care of my health”. In 2016, my theme was to maintain my mental health. I have actually improved it a little.dream-on

For 2017, I want to continue what I’ve started in the second half of 2016 and which actually helped my mental health: following my dream, which is writing, if that wasn’t clear enough yet.

I have one decent first draft that I am currently editing/rewriting and one “very first draft” (or a 50,175 words outline if you prefer) that I have no intention of touching again this year. The year has 365 days. Knowing that, let’s make goals.

2017 theme: plot your own life (I’ve borrowed that idea from a friend)

Plotting my own life means to stop just going through every day passively as I would do in a former life and start working actively toward what I want. That means being mindful, every day, that what I do or do not do will determine my probabilities of getting where I want to go.

So this year, I want to plan my next moves because really, that’s the smart thing to do and most importantly, that’s my M.O. in everything else, so why I failed to make a bigger plan for myself (and stick to it) so far is beyond me.

Here are the goals I’ve set for myself in 2017 (in no particular order):

  1. Finish rewriting book 1.

    tower_of_books_by_platapiotr-d2y0o47
    Tower of Books by Platapiotr on DeviantArt
  2. Have book 1 beta read;
  3. Edit book 1 again;
  4. Participate to camp NaNo in April with my NaNo community;
  5. Finish another first draft;
  6. Read at least one book every two weeks on average, for a total of 26 books this year. As a writer, I should read at least this much. See my list on Goodreads (subject to changes);
  7. Continue to post weekly on this blog;
  8. Write or edit anything daily;
  9. Take a walk at least 5 days a week to avoid becoming too sedentary (with some luck, I’ll find a job within walking distance from my home – that is, less than 60 minutes and this point will be a no-brainer);
  10. Research editing, pitching, querying, publishing, (or any other relevant subject surrounding the publishing process);
  11. Research blogging;
  12. Work on my anxiety;
  13. Take at least one Creative Writing course.

Thirteen goals; it happened like that, but I’m glad it did, 13 is my lucky number.

As you can see, “publishing on Wattpad” is not there; that is because, since I wrote a book, I might as well use it to experiment with traditional publishing. I have no real hope of actually finding an agent or getting that particular book published (I’d rather it not be my official debut novel), but I believe that “practice makes perfect”, and that it’s also the case with pitching and querying. I’ll probably end up publishing that book on Wattpad eventually… just not in February 2017.

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
― Eleanor Roosevelt.

6 thoughts on “Resolution for 2017

  1. I absolutely believe that you’ll hit all of these goals considering you’ve done so much in 2016! Wishing you all of your heart desires, even the ones your heart doesn’t know about yet:) The regularity of your posts motivate me to write my own posts so please keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy new year Ida! 🎉
    Have no doubt in your ability to meet those resolutions / goals (and exceed them!). It’s admirable to have so many goals to start with. For me, I have just two: Live well, and Be happy 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I probably won’t meet all of my goals, but writing them down and keeping them in mind will surely be beneficial. Ultimately, I also want to live well and be happy. ^_^

      I wish you a happy new year and lots of happiness!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think it’s wonderful that you want to try your hand at traditional publishing. It’s so easy these days to self-publish, but there’s got to be an extra swelling of pride for see a major publishing house on your cover, not to mention the experience gained from the process.

    I look forward to following your writing adventures over 2017! Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t say it’s easy, quite the contrary. It seems like a lot of work… a lot of non-writing related work: marketing, advertisement, finding the right editor, etc. I’m ready to do my fair share of it, but not alone all the way. It’s not my cup of tea and I’d rather spend that extra time actually writing.

      Besides, self-publishing would feel like walking on a tightrope without a safety net. I’d rather have professionals overlook my work before it can sit on a bookstore shelf, next to scary giants like Harry Potter.

      Thanks a lot!

      Like

Leave a Reply

